Press "Enter" to skip to content

Robert Forster Warm Nights

Edwyn Collins got the [intended] sound of the album completely – a dry low-end groove pitched somewhere between Creedence Clearwater Revival and Willie Mitchell’s early ’70s Hi Records work.”

Robert Forster

Recorded a year after Beautiful Hearts, Warm Nights repositioned Robert’s standing as one of the great songwriters of the post-punk era. It was only towards the end of the sessions that some complications arose – and it’s these complications that Robert has seized the chance to remedy for this new release of the album.

“It was Edwyn’s idea,” explains Robert, “to bring in a three-piece brass section – it fitted some of the songs beautifully, but it was in the mixing of the brass and the effect it had on the running order that things got complicated, [resulting in] two changes to the album that have been bugging me for 25 years.”

Finally, Robert can sleep easy. The horns removed from Fortress have now been restored – brass that’s also present on Half The Way Home, a song that Robert rashly demoted from the album, making it a bonus track on the Cryin’ Love” single.

Finally, Half The Way Home assumes its rightful place on Warm Nights, replacing Rock’n’Roll Friend – itself a Go-Betweens b-side that had slipped onto Warm Nights on account of its presence in the Australian live shows that had immediately preceded the album’s recording sessions.

During the playback of the original reels from the Edwyn Collins West Heath recording sessions for the album, the Needle Mythology team discovered a beautiful, hitherto forgotten song Did You End Up With The One You Love?. This track was subsequently mixed by Bernard Butler and now appears 28 years later on the bonus 7” and digital versions of Warm Nights.

Complementing the revised iteration of Warm Nights is an EP featuring the original album version of Fortress, Rock ’n’ Roll Friend, Hypnotized (originally the second extra track on the Cryin’ Love CD single) and Did You End Up With The One You Love? .

The album comes in a gatefold sleeves with printed inners featuring newly written liner notes by Forster. The 7″ single is housed in a full colour die-cut sleeve. Now a celebrated artist in her native Germany, Leni Hoffman flew to the UK to personally oversee the printing of the original artwork she created back in 1995.

  • For the mastering, by Abbey Road’s Sean Magee (Beatles, Rolling Stones, Sex Pistols), Robert got to realise a long-held ambition and attended the session at the legendary studios.
  • Warm Nights is released by Needle Mythology in a strictly limited run of 1500 vinyl copies. One thousand will be available on black vinyl, while 500 more copies of the album will be available on nectarine coloured vinyl discs to match the cover art. There will also be 1250 CDs of the album..
  • Album Includes bonus 7” EP featuring Fortress, Rock ’n’ Roll Friend, Hypnotized and Did You End Up With The One You Love?.




140g vinyl pressing (@ Vinyl Factory) plus bonus four-track 7”, housed in a gatefold sleeve. The CD comes with 12-page colour booklet.


  1. I Can Do
  2. Warm Nights
  3. Cryin’ Love
  4. Snake Skin Lady
  5. Loneliness


  1. Jug Of Wine
  2. Fortress
  3. Half The Way Home
  4. On A Street Corner
  5. I’ll Jump

Bonus 7″

  1. Did You End Up With The One You Love?
  2. Rock ’n’ Roll Friend
  3. Hypnotised
  4. Fortress (Original album version)



  1. I Can Do
  2. Warm Nights
  3. Cryin’ Love
  4. Snake Skin Lady
  5. Loneliness
  6. Jug Of Wine
  7. Fortress
  8. Half The Way Home
  9. On A Street Corner
  10. I’ll Jump
Needle Mythology